A Lot of News…Good News!

Great news: Reverend Jen Junior will *finally* wed her boyfriend of 7 years, Taco Waggytail (the poster Chihuahua for Waggytail Rescue) in what will be the “event of the century” at 8pm on April 29th at Luckydog (a bar in Williamsburg, Bklyn.) More details to follow! This will come a mere 2 days after the annual Professional Secretaries’ Day Anti-Slam, which is always the official kickoff of Art Star Party Season. Details to follow on that one too. (5/27/2011, 10pm at Bowery Poetry Club)

In the meantime (the meantime being the few weeks before Art Star Party Season), I have been quite busy. For starters, putting the finishing touches on my book, Elf Girl, which will soon go to the big magic Simon & Schuster machine and come back as bound galleys. Then in November, it will be an actual book that you can go to a store and buy. And since it’s now done, I have no excuse not to finish the next one, which is fiction and about 17,000 words in. Currently taking a brain break to read a ton of fiction in preparation.

Speaking of which, I’ve read some sweet books during the past couple of months. (Some fiction, some non-fiction.) At the bookstore where I work, I was assigned the task of basically reading all the books about NYC I’ve never read. (Impossible because NYC has inspired so many great books.) My fave of the recently read, and now, one of my fave books of all time was Forever by Pete Hammill…amazing! It’s about a dude who can live forever if he never leaves the island of Manhattan. (And I feel like I’m stuck on this island!)

Some other fave New York inspired books I’ve read in the past include:

Kafka Was the Rage

American Eve

Dreamland

Paradise Alley

The Alienist

The Westies

The Bread Givers

Call it Sleep

All Night Party

The Bronx is Burning

I know there’s a ton more, but my brain is tye tye.

Some of the new ones, I just read were more straight-up history:

The Big Oyster

The Epic of NYC

Historical Atlas of New York

Here’s hoping I’m on the lists of others. But seriously, reading some of these books makes me feel, as Faceboy would say, like Brian Wilson after he listened Sgt. Peppers. Terribly inadequate. Luckily no one else is working in the specific genre of psychedelicized/oversexualized elf storytelling so at least I have that going for me.

Must go walk Rev. Jen Junior who is lookin/feelin’ great!

Will try to blog now that my book is all kinds of done. (I know, I always say that…)

 

Leave a Reply

