Resolutions

By the way, I do make resolutions. This year I have one:
To do away with my social life so that I can paint and write more.

2 Responses to “Resolutions”

  1. Robin Dann Says:

    You moved to the E. Village so as not to have a social life? I know exactly what you mean, though. Most artists do. Oh, the curse of being popular! I know you made some allusions to whether hypomania is real or not…well, charisma, liking to be the center of attention, these go hand in hand with being hypomanic, which most artists and writers have a touch of. Then again, sometimes a cigar is just a cigar. And if the society were set up differently, artists would be able to stay up for days and work, and sleep for days when they needed too. Sometimes I envy my favorite artist, Yayoi Kusama, who lives in a mental instituion. Although to be fair I don’t know that much about her daily life. But some of her early work is both a) clearly beautiful and b) clearly obsessive compulsive. She would stay up for days at a time painting thest tiny little half-moon strokes, until she had 50 feet of what looked like snakesin.

  2. Paul H-O Says:

    Social life is over-rated. How many years must you endure the commingling with the rest of our species?

Leave a Reply

